sewing

Choosing a pattern – Book, online or store?

I know this sounds like an odd blog post, however I have found that there are good and bad ways to choose a pattern to make. I personally love pattern books as I love looking through and choosing patterns. As much as I love the internet I don’t like choosing patterns online as I don’t think I can see the image of the pattern as well. I have listed pros and cons for each way to help if your unsure how to find new sewing patterns.

 

In a shop

Shops are good because you can pick up the pattern and have a close look at instructions, requirements for the pattern etc.

Pros

  • Free
  • Able to see what each pattern need in terms of trim, fabric yardage etc
  • Able to look at the pattern images closely

Cons

  • There aren’t usually a big range of brands
  • There aren’t usually a large range of garment designs
  • Can’t see how garment looks on a real person
  • Able to see what each pattern need in terms of trim, fabric yardage etc
  • Physically have to be at the shop

 

Online

Shopping online if common for most of us today, however I personally find it the most unreliable method for buying patterns.

Pros

  • Access to a lot of different brands of pattern
  • Free
  • Able to see what each pattern need in terms of trim, fabric yardage etc
  • Can be accessed almost anywhere

Cons

  • Difficult to see pattern images properly
  • Doesn’t show the pattern on a person a lot of the time
  • Difficult to find specific garment designs i.e fit & flare dress etc
  • Patterns come and go on-line depending on the season etc

 

 

Pattern book

This is my favourite way to choose patterns as I can look at garment designs closely and I have several for my favourite brands – Simplicity, New look & McCalls.

Pros

  • Able to look closely at each design
  • A lot of different garment designs available
  • Pictures of garments on actual people
  • Even though each pattern book is for a season, as it is a hard copy you can look back at patterns that might be out if season
  • Can be taken anywhere

Cons

  • If bought from a supplier they can be quite expensive
  • Each pattern book only has one pattern brand in
  • Patterns can be repeated through out the book
  • Unable to see what each pattern need in terms of trim, fabric yardage etc

 

Hope this helps 🙂  If you are enjoying my blog,  follow me!!

Love Heather xx

Leave a Reply

